What Is A Halal Restaurant?

With the growing quantity of Muslim travelers in the world, many restaurants want to entice those travelers to dine inside their restaurants by offering Halal food. Halal food can be served by anyone, including non-Muslim as long as it follows the Islamic guidelines.

So what is Halal Food for the العرب المسافرون? Halal is definitely an Arabic word meaning "lawful" or "permissible ".Halal Food simply means food that is permissible to be eaten by Muslim.

What sort of food that is permissible for Muslim to eat?

On the basis of the holly Quran, there are always a few restrictions on what Muslim can't eat:

1. Pork
2. Blood
3. Any animal that is not slaughtered in the name of Allah
4. Alcohol

So halal food is food that doesn't violate the restrictions above.

Most non-Muslims realize that Muslims can't eat pork but very few people recognize that halal is significantly more than pork-free and alcohol-free. With the exception of seafood, any animal that is not slaughtered in the name of Allah isn't halal. Chickens, cows, lambs, or turkeys can be non-halal when they are not slaughtered according to the Islamic guidelines. The Islamic guidelines require animals to be slaughtered by making incisions at the front of the throats using very sharp knives. The incisions must be deep and cut into the carotid artery, wind pipe and jugular veins to release all of the blood from the body. The meat can only just be consumed/processed after every one of the blood is drained from the body. When slaughtering a dog, the pinnacle of the animal needs to be aligned to handle the Qiblah and the butcher should utter a prayer "in the name of Allah"

With the growing demand of halal meat for the المسافرون العرب تركيا, more butchers are training to obtain halal certificates. Halal restaurants should obtain their meat supplies only from certified Halal butcheries.

Apart from obtaining the meat from Halal suppliers, food preparation can be important in determining if a meal can be classified as halal. Any kitchen utensils like knives, spoons, baking tray or plates which have been previously used to organize non-halal food shouldn't be used unless they have been cleaned properly according to the Islamic guidelines.

Chefs must also keep from using alcohol (wine, sherry, lager, etc) inside their sauces. While people may argue that a lot of the alcohol will evaporate after the sauces are flambéed or simmered down, plenty of Muslims won't eat anything that has been "touched" by alcohol.

Whilst it takes a great effort for restaurants to serve halal food, the demand keeps growing so rapidly that many of restaurants and food manufacturers do not mind doing the tedious process.